Imagine this scenario:
- User A opens the book
- User B opens the book and make important changes
- User B saves the book
- User A closes the indesign and it's asked if wants to save the changes to the book
- Chooses YES
In this case all the changes of User B are lost!
But Indesign "tells us" to never open the document outside the book.
As you can see here they say the following: "Note: If you are sharing book files over a server, make sure that you have a file management system in place so that you don’t save over each other’s changes accidentally."
This is exactly my scenario;
They say "file management system" but how exactly to implement it for this case? thanks