Take the 2-minute tour ×
Graphic Design Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Graphic Design professionals, students, and enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am following a photoshop tutorial for designing web page. And after I used the slice tool, I could not delete the following 01 slice. The View->Clear Slices is grey and right clicking the slice shows grey delete slice option. After promoting this auto-slice into user-slice, the delete slice option is accessible but after deleteing the promoted user-slice, I get back the auto-slice.

alt text

How could I manage to delete this slice?(I am using Photoshop CS5).

Thanks.

share|improve this question
    
I do not know why but the slice accidently disappeared. –  Jichao Jan 19 '11 at 2:40
    
If you reopened the file the slice should have disappeared. If you have your first slice selecting the whole area I don't think there's a way to get rid of it. –  MikeNGarrett Jan 19 '11 at 4:05
    
@MickNGarrett: Yes, i reopened the file and the slice disappeared. No, I didn't select the whole area as the first slice. I select part of the image as the first slice, and then Photoshop generated the other slices automatically. But after I deleted the first slice, the 01 slice remained. –  Jichao Jan 19 '11 at 4:13
1  
Right. So you deleted all but the first slice. You can't delete that one once you've gotten started with slices unless you reopen the file. That's just the default behavior. Either ignore it or reopen the file. –  MikeNGarrett Jan 19 '11 at 4:19
    
Em... Thanks for you comment. –  Jichao Jan 19 '11 at 4:24
show 1 more comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 7 down vote accepted

You can't delete the slice that remains once you've deleted all other slices. You need to reopen the file to hide it. That's just the default behavior. Either ignore it or reopen the file.

share|improve this answer
    
+1 for support and answer in the comment :D –  Littlemad Jan 21 '11 at 9:37
add comment

ctrl+h is the most handy thing

share|improve this answer
1  
While ctrl+h hides the slices (or more specifically: what you've specified under the View -> Show), this won't delete it. –  koiyu Feb 18 '11 at 12:47
1  
@koiyu the "main" slice will always be there, it can't be deleted (just hidden), so this is a valid answer. –  Yisela Aug 16 '12 at 21:06
    
@yisela If it can't be deleted the only valid answer is "It can't be deleted". Hiding is not deleting. –  koiyu Aug 17 '12 at 5:47
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.