Take the 2-minute tour ×
Graphic Design Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Graphic Design professionals, students, and enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I remove all the columns I don't want visible by right-clicking the column headers and deselecting the column from the list. But when I switch to a different directory of images all the columns are back. They've even reverted in the directory I removed them from...

How do i make my changes stick?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

When you have the appearance the way you want it, go to Window > Workspaces > New Workspace and save your custom workspace (call it "Pete's Custom" or whatever). It will show up as a new choice in the workspace list at the top of the Bridge window.

When you close Bridge, your new custom layout will remain the default.

share|improve this answer
    
I tried doing this 3 times, and each time I saved the workspace, it showed the new workspace as selected but the columns reverted to the state of all being present. I'm going to try and force the program to recreate it's preference file and see if that make a difference. –  Pete Feb 10 '12 at 20:20
    
Yes, that would be the right next debug step. A workspace is normally sticky. –  Alan Gilbertson Feb 10 '12 at 21:08
    
In a followup, I've recently dropped Bridge altogether and am using the screaming fast ACDSee Pro 7. It costs, but it's really fast and pretty powerful. –  Pete Aug 14 at 17:29

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.