Take the 2-minute tour ×
Graphic Design Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Graphic Design professionals, students, and enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I never want my PNGs to be interlaced. So I wish I could set a bunch of option defaults in the application so that I am saving time when outputting a lot of images as PNG over the course of a day working in Photoshop.

Does anyone know if this is possible in Photoshop without using Actions OR the Save-for-Web option?

share|improve this question
2  
.. in fact .. how about having default settings for all Save-as outputs. –  Mike Kormendy Jun 2 '12 at 23:55
    
Why are you against Save for Web? The files are much smaller and the interlaced option can be saved. –  Marc Edwards Jun 3 '12 at 0:31
    
I'm not concerned with file size of the image since they get put through a compositor at a later stage ... Save for web optimizes the image .. I want to keep all the original data. –  Mike Kormendy Jun 4 '12 at 2:30
add comment

1 Answer 1

I'm not getting the problem. Any settings you use in Save As are sticky for any particular format. They become the default until you change them. Non-interlaced is the default for png.

If you're trying to save time, though, why in the world would you not set up an Action and assign a keyboard shortcut to it? No mouse clicks needed, just hit one key combo and your file is saved as a png.

If you really want to save time, don't save out from individual PSDs at all. Set up the Action and do the pngs all at once using Batch... from Bridge, or use Dr. Brown's Services (Image Processor Pro -- scroll down the page).

When you record an action, or more properly, when you run it, you have the option to override the Open and Save locations. Droplets allow you to automate this to the max, so you can just drag a droplet onto an image and have the action run. See this help page for the details.

Here are the necessary settings, from an Action I created for a client project. It resets the aspect ratio on some video frames (TIFFs) and saves them back to the same folder as jpegs. The original recording was done saving back to the original folder. Here's the Action Panel entry. Note that dialogs are turned off:

Action Panel

Here's the Batch dialog, for running the Action inside Photoshop (also works from Bridge).

Batch Panel

And here's the Create Droplet dialog:

Droplet Dialog

The droplet is an executable. Drop a set of files on it and the Action will run automatically as a batch.

If you set these up like this, you'll never see a Save or Save As dialog.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes the settings are sticky as a default, but I still have to click/confirm before saving. My images are separated into folders for compositing & organization, I'm close-cropping detailed images so a couple extra clicks to save the image to the same folder in automated actions process really does become annoying selecting folders & clicking confirmation dialogues for some folder. I can't control output folders as expected w/ Actions (the action saves the location for all output to one location), I want to save it to the original opened image's folder. Dr. Browns services?! Sounds promising! –  Mike Kormendy Jun 4 '12 at 3:13
1  
Man, you are doing things the hard way! Actions allow you to override the Save location in the original recording so that the file saves back to its own location. I've added the links to the answer. –  Alan Gilbertson Jun 4 '12 at 23:30
    
LOL, to you it's the hard way, to me it's the most optimal way based on circumstances I won't even go into. Believe me, I have been using actions to simplify the process as much as possible already. The override of Saving to a different output folder other than initially recorded is fine, but I have to interact to choose the correct folder again. If I open image A in folder A and record the action to PNG it and save it to folder A, then open image B in folder B and run the action, it saves to folder A - not B. –  Mike Kormendy Jun 5 '12 at 20:41
    
Furthermore, if I select to override the Save step in the action, then run the action on image B that means a window will pop up and ask me where to save image B -- I don't want that. I should be able to set a variable saying: [Save to folder of this open image] -- Photoshop does NOT do this or provide the option in the Actions panel. –  Mike Kormendy Jun 5 '12 at 20:44
    
You don't have to activate the Save dialog. I use this workflow for video screen grabs that need to be corrected for aspect ratio and saved out. Dig in on that help page and you'll figure it out. –  Alan Gilbertson Jun 5 '12 at 23:22
show 2 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.