6

I am following a Photoshop tutorial for designing web pages. And after I used the slice tool, I could not delete the following 01 slice. The View->Clear Slices is grey, and right clicking the slice shows grey delete slice option. After promoting this auto-slice into user-slice, the delete slice option is accessible, but after deleting the promoted user-slice, I get back the auto-slice.

alt text

How do I manage to delete this slice? I am using Photoshop CS5.

  • I do not know why but the slice accidently disappeared. – Jichao Jan 19 '11 at 2:40
  • If you reopened the file the slice should have disappeared. If you have your first slice selecting the whole area I don't think there's a way to get rid of it. – MikeNGarrett Jan 19 '11 at 4:05
  • @MickNGarrett: Yes, i reopened the file and the slice disappeared. No, I didn't select the whole area as the first slice. I select part of the image as the first slice, and then Photoshop generated the other slices automatically. But after I deleted the first slice, the 01 slice remained. – Jichao Jan 19 '11 at 4:13
  • 1
    Right. So you deleted all but the first slice. You can't delete that one once you've gotten started with slices unless you reopen the file. That's just the default behavior. Either ignore it or reopen the file. – MikeNGarrett Jan 19 '11 at 4:19
  • @MikeNGarret: repeat your answer in "Your answer". So Jichao can be approved as answerif it is what he needed :) – Littlemad Jan 21 '11 at 2:28
8

You can't delete the slice that remains once you've deleted all other slices. You need to reopen the file to hide it. That's just the default behavior. Either ignore it or reopen the file.

  • This is not the way. It doesn't work unsurprisingly. – atilkan Nov 30 '16 at 1:16
  • 2
    That's correct, atilkan. Things have changed in the last 5 years. Now Photoshop CC has a handy button in the top bar named "Hide Auto Slices." Toggling this button will hide your first slice. – MikeNGarrett Dec 2 '16 at 14:41
2

ctrl+h is the most handy thing

  • 2
    While ctrl+h hides the slices (or more specifically: what you've specified under the View -> Show), this won't delete it. – Jari Keinänen Feb 18 '11 at 12:47
  • 1
    @koiyu the "main" slice will always be there, it can't be deleted (just hidden), so this is a valid answer. – Yisela Aug 16 '12 at 21:06
  • @yisela If it can't be deleted the only valid answer is "It can't be deleted". Hiding is not deleting. – Jari Keinänen Aug 17 '12 at 5:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.