0

For reasons I don't understand, Photoshop suddenly is giving me the SAVE-AS dialog box even though I'm just selecting SAVE (CTRL+S) or using the file/save clicks. I assume I must have inadvertently hit some key combination but I can't figure out how to restore a simple save.

I am opening JPG files through Windows File Manager and using the Open With command and selecting Adobe Photoshop. My editing is typically limited to cropping and some image enhancements. I never change the image type and I'm not adding layers.

I've done this for years and I'm in the middle of editing some 1,100 photographs. The time it takes to do a SAVE-AS, and then the subsequent question upoon closing "Do you want to save the file" even though I just saved it. How do I return Photoshop to just SAVE an automatically overwrite the file?

  • You absolutely don't have any other layers (including adjustment layers etc)? Photoshop should as long as there is only a single layer save the JPG, if there are any other layers you have to save as a new file (I just tested changing color modes and bit depths etc too and it still saves as long as there is a single layer) – Cai Sep 4 '17 at 13:56
  • Absolutely. There is only one layer. I've been using Photoshop for years and never had this happen. – Midwestden Sep 4 '17 at 14:05
  • Very strange, I can't reproduce. What PS version? – Cai Sep 4 '17 at 14:08
  • Yes, very weird. I'm using Photoshop CC 2017 1,1 Release, 20170425.r 252 x64. I've tried rebooting thinking maybe it would clear soemthing up in memory but no luck. I may have to uninstall. – Midwestden Sep 4 '17 at 14:30
  • You say you have only one layer, but if it has an alpha channel then that will prompt the Save As dialog since JPEGs don't support transparency. Try flattening all layers, even if you have only one. That will remove the alpha channel - of course it will also remove any transparency! – Billy Kerr Sep 4 '17 at 14:46
1

If you are using crop, you must check: delete cropped pixels. It preserves your background layer.

If you leave it unchecked, the PS will make your layer a Layer0 instead of Background. So the PS will never save it using File>>Sive.

See the picture below.

enter image description here

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.